Doctoral Consortium

The DESRIST Doctoral Consortium is designed for doctoral students in all stages of their dissertation project. The doctoral consortium provides a platform where students can present their dissertation projects and receive feedback, guidance, and support. Students will meet peers who have also embarked on design-oriented dissertation projects as well as scholars who are experts in design science research. Submissions will be reviewed by two faculty members. Students will prepare presentations that must include the main subject of their dissertation, the current state, and next steps. Both their peers and the DESRIST Doctoral Consortium faculty members will provide feedback.

Application Process

To apply for presentation at the DESRIST Doctoral Consortium, please submit a paper addressing the following issues. Your paper should exclusively address your thesis and related issues:

  • Research background
  • Research problem / research questions
  • DSR methodological approach
  • Description of artifact or design theory
  • Expected contribution
  • Next steps
  • Challenges and specific issues that you would like to discuss at the consortium

Your submission must not exceed 8 pages, 8.5 x 11 inches sheet with 1 inch margin, 12 points Times New Roman font. The materials must be sent via email to the consortium chairs. All submissions must be in Microsoft Word (doc/docx) or pdf format. The application must be received no later than midnight Central European Standard Time (CET) on 01 April 2013.  Submissions will be judged based on the following criteria

  • Originality
  • Significance
  • Justification and rigor
  • Clarity

Important Dates

Submission deadline: 01 April 2013
Notification of acceptance: 15 April 2013
Submission of revised proposal: 30 April 2013
Doctoral Consortium: 10 June 2013
Conference: 11-12 June 2013

Doctoral Consortium Faculty

Doctoral Consortium Chairs

Jan Pries-Heje, Roskilde University, Denmark (
Stefan Seidel, University of Liechtenstein, Liechtenstein (
Kari Smolander, Lappeenranta University of Technology, Finland (

Expert Faculty Panel

Shirley Gregor, Australian National University, Australia
Alan Hevner, University of South Florida, USA
Sandeep Purao, Penn State University, USA
Tuure Tuunanen, University of Jyväskylä, Finland
John Venable, Curtin University of Technology, Australia
Robert Winter, University of St. Gallen, Switzerland